Bogor has a long history in Government, considering that there are evidences from Pajajaran’s Kingdom e.g Batu Tulis Epigraph, villages name such as Lawanggintung, Lawang Seketeng, Jerokuta, Baranangsiang, and Leuwi Sipatahunan, it believed that Pakuan as Pajajaran Capital was located on Bogor. Pakuan as the central of Pajajaran Administration was well-known on Prabu Siliwangi’s (Sri Baginda Maharaja) administration, whose inauguration was on June 3rd 1472, and in 1973 was established as Bogor’s Anniversary by Regency and State Regional House of Representatives and always celebrated afterwards.

As the results of Banten’s army attack, the record of Pakuan City was missing, and revealed after the Dutch expeditions arrival ,-led by Scipio and Riebeck,- in 1687. They researched Batutulis Epigraph and other sites that believed that Bogor was the centre of Pakuan Pajajaran Administration.

In 1745, Dutch East Indies’ Governor General, Baron van Inhoff, built Bogor Palace along with Daenless Highway, which connected Batavia and Bogor so that Bogor began to develop.

During British occupation, the Governor General was Thomas Rafless. He was meritorious in developing Bogor. He renovated Bogor Palace and turnt half of the land into Botanical Garden. He also hired a Planner named Carsens who arranged Bogor as a Resort that known as Buitenzoorg.

After the administration was returned to Dutch East Indies in 1903, Decentralization Law -which aim was to erased traditional administration system and replaced with modern administration system- was published. As the realization Staadsgemeente was formed, such as :

  1. Gemeente Batavia ( S. 1903 No.204 )
  2. Gemeente Meester Cornelis ( S. 1905 No.206 )
  3. Gemeente Buitenzoorg  ( S. 1905 No.208 )
  4. Gemeente Bandoeng ( S. 1906 No.121 )
  5. Gemeente Cirebon ( S. 1905 No.122 )
  6. Gemeente Soekabumi (S. 1914 No.310 )

(Regeringsalmanak Voor Nederlandsh Indie 1928 : 746-748)

Gemeente establishment was not for Native’s benefit but for Dutch and European Society and their alliances benefits. The Bugermeester from Buitenzoorg Staatsgemeente always Netherlander/Mynheer and only in 1949 was occupied by Native, i.e Mr. Soebroto.

In 1922, as the result of  dissatisfaction of decentralization, Bestuursher Voorings Ordonantie or Dutch East Indies Governance’s Change Law was published (Staatsblad 1922 No. 216), so in 1922 Regentschaps Ordonantie (Ordonantie Regencies), which made Regency Regional Autonomy rules was established (Staatsblad 1925 No. 79).

West Java Province was established in 1925  (Staatsblad 1924 No. 378 bij Propince West Java), consisted of 5 Residencies, 18 Regencies (Regentscape) and States (Staads Gemeente), wherein Buitenzoorg (Bogor) was one of Staads Gemeente in West Java Province which enacted based on (Staatsblad 1905 No. 208 jo. Staatsblad 1926 No. 368), using Modern Decentralization’s principle, where Bugermeester position became clear.

In Japanese administration, Bogor administration became weaker because the government was centered in Residential which located in Bogor State. During this administration, government institution names were changed : Residencies to Syoeoe. Regencies/Regenshaps to Ken, State/Staads Gemeente to Si, District/Districk to Gun, Sub District/Under Districk to Soe and Village to Koe.

After Independence’s Day, -after Indonesia’s sovereignty been recognized-, Administration in Bogor State was changed to Bogor City which formed based on Constitution No. 16 year 1950.

Later, in 1957, the administration names was changed to Bogor Municipalities, in accordance to Constitution No. 1 Year 1957, then by the Constitution No. 18 Year 1965 and Constitution No. 5 Year 5 was changed again to 2nd Grade Municipality.

With the enactment of Constitution No. 22 Year 1999, 2nd Grade Municipality Bogor was changed into Bogor City.

source :
translate by YD1JUK – Aninda Kartika